Subscribe to bill updates using RSS news aggregation

Monitor bills in real time

MASA  weekly legislative updates, highlighting education-related stories and upcoming policy issues.  

How my representative and senator voted on important or interesting measures

House and Senate Leadership

The leadership in both chambers--particularly the majority party leadership--sets the overall agenda for that chamber, prioritizes what bills receive a vote, and dictate the high-level parameters for policy decisions.



Lee Chatfield (R-Levering), Speaker of the House
Jason Wentworth (R-Clare), Speaker Pro Tempore
Triston Cole (R-Mancelona), Majority Floor Leader 
Christine Greig (D-Farmington Hills), Minority Leader
Yousef Rabhi (D-Ann Arbor), Minority Floor Leader 



Mike Shirkey (R-Clarklake), Majority Leader
Aric Nesbitt (R-Lawton), President Pro Tempore
Peter MacGregor (R-Rockford), Majority Floor Leader
Jim Ananich (D-Flint), Minority Leader
Stephanie Chang (D-Detroit), Minority Floor Leader

House Education Committee

Pamela Hornberger (R-Chesterfield Twp.), Committee Chair

Brad Paquette (R-Niles), Majority Vice Chair
Kathy Crawford (R-Novi)
Hank Vaupel (R-Handy Twp.)
John Reilly (R-Oakland Twp.)
Matt Hall (R-Emmett Twp.)
Gregory Markkanen (R-Hancock)
Jack O'Malley (R-Lake Ann)
Rodney Wakeman (R-Saginaw Twp.)
Darrin Camilleri (D-Brownstone Twp.), Minority Vice Chair
William Sowerby (D-Clinton Twp.)
Brenda Carter (D-Pontiac)
Tyrone Carter (D-Detroit)
Matt Koleszar (D-Plymouth)
Lori Stone (D-Warren)

House K-12 Budget Subcommittee
Aaron Miller (R-Sturgis), Committee Chair
Pamela Hornberger (R-Chesterfield Twp.), Majority Vice-Chair
Larry Inman (R-Williamsburg)
Thomas Albert (R-Lowell)
Sue Allor (R-Wolverine)
Mark Huizenga (R-Walker)
Annette Glenn (R-Williams Twp.)
Kristy Pagan (D-Canton Twp.), Minority Vice Chair
Rachel Hood (D-Grand Rapids)
Sheryl Kennedy (D-Davison)
Joe Tate (D-Detroit)



Senate Education and Career Readiness Committee

Lana Theis (R-Brighton) Chair
Ken Horn (R-Frankenmuth) Majority Vice Chair
Jon Bumstead (R-Newaygo)
Jim Runestad (R-White Lake)
Kevin Daley (R-Lum)
Dayna Polehanki (D-Livonia) Minority Vice Chair 
Erika Geiss (D-Taylor)

Senate K-12 Budget Subcommittee

Wayne Schmidt (R-Traverse City), Chair
Rick Outman (R-Six Lakes), Majority Vice Chair
Jon Bumstead (R-Newaygo)
Kevin Daley (R-Lum)
Rosemary Bayer (D-Beverly Hills)